The Rotary Club of Parksville AM has a history of serving Rotary District 5020 in leadership roles.  As of July 1, 2020, Lynne Pearson has taken on the challenge of Assistant Governor (AG) for Area 3, a position she will hold for a 3 year term.

Lynne takes up the mantle from another Parksville AM member, John O'Brien who has served the District since 2017 with enthusiasm, commitment and boundless energy. We can be proud of the fact that Lynne is the 4th Assistant Governor to serve the District from the Rotary Club of Parksville AM.  Ian Dewar served as AG for the 2005-2006 term, with Bashir El-Khalafawi lending his talents to the role from 2007-2008.
Rotary District 5020 covers all of Vancouver island and Western Washington State. It has 91 clubs divided into 18 Areas. 37 clubs are in Canada and 54 are in the US.  Area 3 consists of the following clubs:  Parksville AM, Qualicum Beach, Qualicum Beach Sunrise, Port Alberni, Port Alberni Arrowsmith, and Ucluelet.
The role of the Assistant Governor is to bring information about decisions, activities and priorities in the District to Rotary Clubs in the Area - and to bring information from the Area clubs to the District level.  The Assistant Governor facilitates the exchange of information and cooperation amongst clubs in the Area.  The AG also provides advice to clubs when needed.  They are the key support person from Rotary to the clubs.
Lynne has been a Rotarian for 23 ½ years. She became a member of the Rotary Club of Saskatoon in 1996 and transferred to the Rotary Club of Parksville AM in 2007.  She was President of the Club in 2011-12 and has been Chair of Foundation since that time.  For several years she chaired what was then the Club’s major fundraiser – Taste of Oceanside.  She is a Paul Harris Fellow +7 and a member of the District 5020 PolioPlus Society.
Lynne is Dean Emerita of the Edwards School of Business, University of Saskatchewan. She has had an extensive career in senior management positions, including Dean of Business; Queen’s Printer for Canada and CEO, Canada Communication Group;  CEO, Consulting and Audit Canada;  Executive Director, Training Programs Branch, Public Service of Canada; Assistant Deputy Minister, Western Economic Diversification;  Director General, Employment and Immigration Canada;  Deputy Minister, Consumer and Commercial Affairs of Saskatchewan
She has served on several business and professional boards including Canadian Standards Association (Chair);  Canadian Wheat Board (Director);  CanMar Grain (Chair);  Centre for Financial Services Ombudsnetwork (Chair of Audit);  Institute for Public Administration of Canada (National President); Canadian Federation of Business School Deans (Secretary-Treasurer).
During and after her professional career, she also served on several volunteer Boards, including: Saskatoon United Way (Chair of Personnel and President);  Wanuskewin Heritage Park (a national heritage site) (Vice-Chair);  Saskatchewan Chamber of Commerce (Director);  Rotary Club of Parksville AM  (President and currently Chair of Foundation);  Career Centre Oceanside (WorkBC Employment Service Centre) (Treasurer);  Knox United Church (Chair).
She has received several awards, including: Saskatchewan Lt. Governor’s Gold Medal for public service, Athena Award from the Chamber of Commerce; Saskatoon YWCA Woman of Distinction Award for Lifetime Achievement; Regina YWCA Woman of the Year Award in the Business and Professional category; and the Saskatchewan Centennial Medal.
Lynne has been married to her husband George for 52 years. They continue to operate a grain farm in Saskatchewan.  They had two children.  Tanya lives with her husband and three children in Campbell River, BC.  Robert unfortunately died at age 39 from heart failure and his widow and two children live in Oakville, Ontario.
The Rotary Club of Parksville AM are proud to have Lynne serving the District and are confident that she will lead us forward with professionalism and dedication.